Our Curriculum

Play in the EYFS

Through play our children explore and develop learning experiences, which help them make sense of the world. They practise and build up ideas, and learn how to control themselves and understand the need for boundaries. They have the opportunity to think creatively alongside other children as well as on their own. They communicate with others as they investigate and solve problems. They express their emotions and feelings in controlled and safe situations.

  • The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. EYFS is important in its own right, and in preparing children for later schooling. It supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

Early Years Foundation Stage


About the EYFS Curriculum

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.  


The EYFS is divided into two complimentary areas to help the children grow a strong learning foundation.

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas are the fundamental pillars of the EYFS. These are:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.


The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professional teaching and support will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This resembles a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it is suitable for very young children, and it is designed to be flexible, so the teachers can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking, which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

© 晶晶幼稚園 版權所有 All Rights Reserved